Dear Lucy 1

wpid-20150619_135011.jpg

  Dear Lucy,

         I have nothing but feelings of pride that you have become a girl so compassionate, and wonderful, and kind.

Part of me will always wish that I were there to shape you and make you into such a girl, or at least guide you and give you outlets and opportunities to that effect, but you have your real mother to thank for that.

You may not look much like her, but I can tell you with confidence that you will grow up to be just like her in many ways, for she has given you the pieces which I could not.

I want you to know I always wanted a daughter. I really did. And there was not a single quality about you which I did not love with all my being.

In spite of all the sickness, and migraines, and shortness of breath that came along with carrying you inside me for nine months, I enjoyed knowing you were in there, waiting to grace the world with your presence.

You might be wondering why, with what I have just told you, I didn’t keep you with me forever. And you are justified in wondering. Please always remember that sometimes things happen for reasons that we can’t know until the latter half of that purpose is revealed.

Soon I will tell you the story of how you came to be where you are today, but for now just look at your mother and father and understand: You would never have known the love of these two wonderful people, had circumstances not been what they were.

You are loved. And wanted.

And that, in itself, is a treasure.

Love Always,

Birth Mom


Read Dear Lucy 2

What is Dear Lucy about?

One thought on “Dear Lucy 1

  1. Pingback: Dear Lucy (Letters from a Birth Mother) | talkingthisandthat

Leave a Reply

