Creativity and Mental Health

Some artistic representations of mental disorders by Lauren Hayley

BY LAUREN HAYLEY

For me, creativity is a massive part of expressing my feelings when it comes to my mental health. Creating abstract representations of my disorders or how I feel allows me to release the negative thoughts and create something interesting in the process.

hope Hope (2015) 

mha designs Mental Health Awareness Designs (2014)

I draw, paint, write – anything and everything! It’s the most therapeutic thing in the world; I can sit in complete silence and not have one thought pass through my head for hours when I have a paintbrush in my hand.

Does anybody else have any methods to relieve stress and negative feelings?

View original post

4 thoughts on “Creativity and Mental Health

  1. I “vent” in poems or pictures found on Pinterest and post them all on Twitter.
    Lots of over analysing happens in my head…to my own detriment.
    My vnting on Twitter helps to a degree.

    Like

Leave a Reply

