Where I’m Going With This

This is the follow-up post promised here.

After The Accident, my niece and nephew were left behind suddenly, without their mother.

My niece, Ezri, was two-and-a-half years old, my nephew Lucian was two months old. Ezri had been seated in the centre of the backseat of the car at the time, and had escaped with merely a scratch on her foot. Lucian, however, was on the same side as my sister when the car was hit. Miraculously he was barely injured, with only a concussion and a bruised liver resulting from the impact. The car was so badly damaged they didn’t even know he was still in there, at first. If it weren’t for him suddenly crying, they wouldn’t have heard him and he would have been carried away, alive, with the wreckage.

These thoughts continuously haunt me. I cannot imagine what they must have seen or heard, or how they must have felt. But I love them to pieces, which is difficult because I’ve been an entire ocean away from them for the past five years. That’s beside the point.

The point is, it hurts me to think of how they felt after all this. How do you explain to a child that their parent isn’t coming back? How do you convey their love and legacy to the innocent? I know my family isn’t alone in this; there are children across the world who are struggling or about to struggle with this concept. Not even just kids, but people of all ages. Grief is a difficult thing.

So I wrote a story. Just something simple, about a family of bunnies with Ezri as the main character. In the story, Mama Bunny disappears and Ezri goes to find her after she sees her dad’s reaction when she asks where her mama is. I wrote it for her and Lucian, initially, but I think this is bigger than that.

When we were at the hospital, nobody gave us any materials to help talk to the kids. They just kind of leave you to it. My vision is that this book will be published with illustrations and distributed for free to families who are about to lose a parent of children. I want it to be available for purchase so that people everywhere can enjoy it and take a bit of comfort from it.

BUT I DON’T QUITE KNOW HOW TO ACCOMPLISH THIS.

This is where you come in, friends. I want to hear from people who would be able to offer advice or time and skills on editing a video so I can create a Kickstarter page to raise the funds to get this done. I need ideas. Artists. Programmers. I’m thinking maybe an app where the kids can flip the pages and play with Ezri Bunny. Or some animated illustrations.

I myself am an amateur artist but for some reason I have a mental block when it comes to doing artwork for this particular project. I’m thinking stuff like this:

Painting by Kirsten Young

Painting by Kirsten Young

I would like to post the story free for anyone to read, however I am afraid of copyright issues and the work being stolen. So maybe I could read the story on video to upload to YouTube. But I don’t know how to edit video.

If you or someone you know would like to help, please give a shout. I’d love to see this accomplished in 2015.

Thanks for reading.

3 thoughts on “Where I’m Going With This

  1. Pingback: The Accident (And How Money Changes Everything) | talkingthisandthat

  2. Pingback: A Letter of Regret From Your Anxious and Depressed Friend | talkingthisandthat

  3. Pingback: Why I Chose to Speak Out | talkingthisandthat

Leave a Reply

